email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by Dustin Hoffman


Beecham House is a retirement home for singers and musicians hidden deep in the English countryside. Every year, a large performance is prepared in honour of Giuseppe Verdi’s birth. All artists residing in the house return to the stage to raise money to keep Beecham going. As preparations get under way, capricious performers are reborn. Some feel faint, some secretly have a drink and others refuse to sing altogether. Adding to the confusion, a new retiree penetrates the Beecham circle: lyrical diva Jean Horton, who is reunited with the other components of her legendary quartet Reggie, Wilf and Cissy. Reggie is her ex-husband, and the quartet disintegrated at the same time as their marriage.

international title: Quartet
original title: Quartet
country: United Kingdom
sales agent: HanWay Films
year: 2012
genre: fiction
directed by: Dustin Hoffman
film run: 102'
release date: UK 01/01/2013, IE 04/01/2013, DE 24/01/2013, HU 24/01/2013, IT 24/01/2013, SE 01/02/2013, PL 14/02/2013, IS 15/02/2013, PT 21/02/2013, DK 28/02/2013, FI 22/03/2013, FR 03/04/2013, NL 09/05/2013, BE 22/05/2013
screenplay: Ronald Harwood
cast: Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay, Billy Connolly, Pauline Collins, Michael Gambon, Sheridan Smith, Andrew Sachs, Dame Gwyneth Jones, Trevor Peacock, David Ryall, Luke Newberry
cinematography by: John de Borman
film editing: Barney Pilling
music: Dario Marianelli
producer: Finola Dwyer, Stewart Mackinnon
production: Finola Dwyer Productions, Headline Pictures
distributor: Momentum Pictures, Pyramide Distribution, BIM Distribuzione, A-Film Distribution, A-Film België NV, Best Film, SF Studios Denmark, DCM Film Distribution GmbH
(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Privacy Policy