email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by Maurice Pialat


In late spring, 1890, Vincent moves to Auvers-sur-Oise, near Paris, under the care of Dr. Gachet, living in a humble inn. Fewer than 70 days later, Vincent dies from a self-inflicted gunshot wound. We see Vincent at work, painting landscapes and portraits. His brother Theo, wife Johanna, and their baby visit Auvers. Vincent is playful and charming, engaging the attentions of Gachet's daughter Marguerite (who's half Vincent's age), a young maid at the inn, Cathy a Parisian prostitute, and Johanna. Shortly before his death, Vincent visits Paris, quarrels with Theo, disparages his own art and accomplishments, dances at a brothel, and is warm then cold toward Marguerite.

original title: Van Gogh
country: France
year: 1991
genre: fiction
directed by: Maurice Pialat
film run: 158'
release date: FR 30/10/1991, SE 07/02/1992, BE 13/02/1992, UK 08/05/1992, DE 28/05/1992, NL 24/09/1992, PT 23/04/1993, ES 28/05/1993, HU 27/08/1993, DK 25/12/1993, FI 16/12/1994, CZ 08/07/2003
screenplay: Maurice Pialat
cast: Jacques Dutronc, Alexandra London, Bernard Le Coq
cinematography by: Gilles Henry, Jacques Loiseleux, Emmanuel Machuel
film editing: Yann Dedet, Nathalie Hubert, Hélène Viard
art director: Philippe Pallut, Katia Wyszkop
costumes designer: Edith Vesperini
(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Privacy Policy