email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


by János Szász


Josef Brenner is a psychiatrist whose breakthrough approach to working with the mentally ill is overtaken by his morphine addiction and ostracism from mainstream medicine. His captivation with asylum patient Gizella leads to a destructive meeting of mind and body, leaving him contemplating her sacrifice to fuel his appetite for knowledge and renown.
Based on the infamous diaries of Geza Csath.

international title: Opium – A Madwoman's Diary
original title: Ópium: Egy elmebeteg nö naplója
country: Hungary, Germany, United Kingdom
year: 2006
genre: fiction
directed by: János Szász
release date: HU 29/03/2007
screenplay: János Szász, András Szekér
cast: Ulrich Thomsen, Kirsti Stubø, Zsolt László, Enikö Börcsök, Gyöngvér Bognár, Roland Rába
cinematography by: Tibor Máthé
film editing: Anna Kornis
art director: Tibor Lazar
music: Johann Jonhannsson
producer: Andras Hamori, Pál Sándor
production: H2O Motion Pictures, Hunnia Filmstúdió, EuroArts Entertainment Filmproduktions
backing: Euroimages
(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Privacy Policy