Film Reviews

3595 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 17/06/2019. 711 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

Away by Gints Zilbalodis

17/06/2019

The production history of this feature by Latvian animator Gints Zilbalodis is fascinating, but it’s what finally made it to the big screen that truly impresses  

Away

Away

Kemp. My Best Dance Is Yet to Come by Edoardo Gabbriellini

14/06/2019

Italian actor-director Edoardo Gabbriellini delivers a great documentary, competing in Bologna’s Biografilm Festival, in which contemporary dance icon Lindsay Kemp tells his own story  

Kemp. My Best Dance Is Yet to Come

Kemp. My Best Dance Is Yet to Come

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love by Nick Broomfield

13/06/2019

Nick Broomfield tackles the relationship between Leonard Cohen and Marianne Ihlen in this heartfelt, touching and romantic documentary  

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Marianne & Leonard: Words of Love

Nomad: In the Footsteps of Bruce Chatwin by Werner Herzog

13/06/2019

Werner Herzog fashions a warm documentary tribute to his great friend and fellow maverick, British travel writer Bruce Chatwin  

Nomad: In the Footsteps of Bruce Chatwin

Nomad: In the Footsteps of Bruce Chatwin

Marona's Fantastic Tale by Anca Damian

12/06/2019

Anca Damian puts her name to a remarkable animated film, a simple, tender and moving story suffused with visual and musical poetry of great inventiveness  

Marona's Fantastic Tale

Marona's Fantastic Tale

MOTHER by Kristof Bilsen

11/06/2019

Kristof Bilsen’s beautiful doc focuses on a caregiver in Chiang Mai, Thailand, who works in a home for European Alzheimer’s sufferers  

MOTHER

MOTHER

My Father the Spy by Gints Grube, Jaak Kilmi

11/06/2019

This compelling documentary by Gints Grube and Jaak Kilmi takes a look at the secret life of a Cold War double agent as his daughter sets out on a journey into the past  

My Father the Spy

My Father the Spy

Arrest by Andrei Cohn

11/06/2019

Andrei Cohn’s second feature explores the interactions between a torturer and his victim in 1980s Romania  

Arest

Arest

A mano disarmata by Claudio Bonivento

07/06/2019

Claudio Bonivento’s film starring Claudia Gerini tells of the battle fought against organised criminal gangs in Ostia by a journalist who’s now under permanent police protection  

A mano disarmata

A mano disarmata

The Naked King – 18 Fragments on Revolution by Andreas Hoessli

05/06/2019

Swiss director and journalist Andreas Hoessli talks to us about revolution through the eyes of those who lived through it in all its glories and defeats  

Der nackte König – 18 Fragmente über Revolution

Der nackte König – 18 Fragmente über Revolution