Film Reviews

3871 film reviews available in total starting from 04/09/2002. Last updated on 15/10/2019. 732 film reviews inserted in the last 12 months.

Motherland by Tomas Vengris

15/10/2019

Lithuanian filmmaker Tomas Vengris' first feature is the story of a mother bringing her US-born son to her homeland for the first time in 1992  

Gimtine

Gimtine

Camille by Boris Lojkine

15/10/2019

Boris Lojkine’s biopic beautifully tells the story of the bright, moving and tragic destiny of young French photojournalist Camille Lepage  

Camille

Camille

The Goya Murders by Gerardo Herrero

15/10/2019

Aided by a game Maribel Verdú, Gerardo Herrero delivers CSI: Spanish Romantic Painters edition  

El asesino de los caprichos

El asesino de los caprichos

4x4 by Mariano Cohn

15/10/2019

The opening film of Sitges’ Orbita section, directed by Argentinian helmer Mariano Cohn, proves that cars are indeed killing us  

4x4

4x4

The New Music by Chiara Viale

15/10/2019

Chiara Viale's debut feature is an enjoyable film, the strongest assets of which are its script and the four lead characters' performances  

The New Music

The New Music

I Am (Not) a Monster by Nelly Ben Hayoun-Stépanian

14/10/2019

Nelly Ben Hayoun-Stépanian concocts a documentary about the origins of knowledge that is as whimsical as it is thought-provoking  

I Am (Not) a Monster

I Am (Not) a Monster

Fanny Lye Deliver'd by Thomas Clay

14/10/2019

In the aftermath of the English Civil War, a devout Puritan family shelters a mysterious couple, in British auteur Thomas Clay’s third feature  

Fanny Lye Deliver'd

Fanny Lye Deliver'd

Valan – Valley of Angels by Béla Bagota

14/10/2019

With his first feature film - an effective police thriller set in Transylvania - Hungarian filmmaker Béla Bagota shows promising directorial skill  

Valan (Az utolsó hívás)

Valan (Az utolsó hívás)

Fritzi: A Revolutionary Tale by Matthias Bruhn, Ralf Kukula

11/10/2019

Matthias Bruhn and Ralf Kukula look at the social changes of 1989 through the eyes of a 12-year-old  

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte

Fritzi: Eine Wendewundergeschichte

Paradise Hills by Alice Waddington

11/10/2019

A soap bubble of sorts, Alice Waddington’s first work, presented in a world premiere at the recent Sundance Film Festival, shines momentarily before bursting into oblivion  

Paradise Hills

Paradise Hills