email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

CANNES 2010 Directors’ Fortnight

Varda to receive Carrosse d’Or


The Society of Film Directors (SRF) will award the Carrosse d’Or (“Golden Coach”) to French director Agnès Varda at the opening evening of the 42nd Directors’ Fortnight, which will run from May 13-23 at the 63rd Cannes Film Festival.

Created in 2002, the award is intended for directors chosen for their innovative films, their bold and uncompromising direction and production. Previous Carrosse d’Or winners include Jacques Rozier, Clint Eastwood, Nanni Moretti, Ousmane Sembene, David Cronenberg, Alain Cavalier, Jim Jarmusch and Naomi Kawase.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Varda (81) began her career as a director in 1955. She won the Louis Delluc Prize in 1964, and has been selected in competition at Cannes (in 1962), Berlin (in 1965 when she took home the Special Jury Prize, 1988 and 1995) and Venice (in 1985).

Her latest work, The Beaches of Agnes [+see also:
film profile
, nabbed the Best Documentary Cesar 2009, after it was unveiled out of competition at the 2008 Venice Film Festival.

The 2010 Directors’ Fortnight selection will be unveiled on April 20 by the new delegate general Frédéric Boyer, at the traditional press conference to be held at the Forum des Images in Paris.

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy