email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

AWARDS Iceland

Undercurrent, Good Heart dominate Eddas


Undercurrent, Good Heart dominate Eddas

Last Saturday evening, Árni Ólafur Ásgeirsson’s Undercurrent was the top winner at Iceland’s annual Edda Film and Television Awards ceremony, with six statuettes, including Best Film and Best Leading Actress (Nína Dögg Filippusdóttir). Dagur Kári’s English-language The Good Heart came in a close second with five awards, including Best Director and Best Script. Both films were produced by Zik Zak Filmworks.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

Marteinn St. Thorsson’s drama Stormland, produced by Pegasus Pictures, won Best Actor (Ólafur Darri Ólafsson) and Best Supporting Actress (Elma Lísa Gunnarsdóttir), while the youth film Jitters by first-time director Baldvin Z won Best Supporting Actor (Þorsteinn Bachmann).

Örn Marinó Arnarson and Thorkell Hardarson’s Feathered Cocaine won Documentary of the Year and Ísold Uggadóttir’s Clean Best Short Film.

Veteran director Hrafn Gunnlaugsson was given the Icelandic Film and TV Academy’s Honorary Award for his achievements in filmmaking and his contribution to Icelandic film and television culture.

Full list of Edda winners:

Feature Film of the Year
Undercurrent (Zik Zak Filmworks) - directed by Árni Ólafur Ásgeirsson

Director of the Year
Dagur Kári - The Good Heart [+see also:
film profile

Screenplay of the Year
Dagur Kári - The Good Heart

Actress in a Leading Role
Nína Dögg Filippusdóttir - Undercurrent

Actor in a Leading Role
Ólafur Darri Ólafsson - Stormland [+see also:
film profile

Actor in a Supporting Role
Þorsteinn Bachmann - Jitters [+see also:
interview: Atli Óskar Fjalarsson
film profile

Actress in a Supporting Role
Elma Lísa Gunnarsdóttir - Stormland

Documentary of the Year
Feathered Cocaine - Örn Marinó Arnarson, Thorkell Hardarson

Short Film of the Year
Clean - Ísold Uggadóttir

Sound Design of the Year
Ingvar Lundberg, Kjartan Kjartansson - Undercurrent

Film Score of the Year
Slowblow - Undercurrent

Costume Design of the Year
Helga Rós V. Hannam - The Good Heart

Cinematography of the Year
G. Magni Ágústsson - Undercurrent

Editor of the Year
Valdís Óskarsdóttir, Eva Lind Höskuldsdóttir - Undercurrent

Make-up Achievement of the Year
Ásta Hafþórsdóttir, Stefán Jörgen Ásgeirsson - The Good Heart

Production Design of the Year
Hálfdán Pedersen - The Good Heart

The Academy Honorary Prize
Hrafn Gunnlaugsson

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy