email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

AWARDS Belgium

Hop gets 5 Plateau Noms


Awards - Belgium Hop heads Plateau nominations Belgium’s Joseph Plateau 2001-2002 awards will be presented on Saturday 29 March. Organised by the International Flanders-Gand Film Festival, the event will be staged for the first time in the Albert Hall in Brussels.
"We wanted to emphasise the difference between the Belgian film awards and the festival’s competition, " explained Jacques Dubrulle, the secretary-general of the Gand Festival. For the first time, three TV awards will also be presented, bringing the number of categories to eleven.
Hop by Dominique Standaert is the frontrunner with five nominations, followed by four for Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne’s Le Fils, Dorothée van den Berghe’s Meisje and Danis Tanovic’s No Man’s Land [+see also:
film profile
with 3 apiece. The nominations are decided on by 160 Belgian film industry figures while 5000 Belgian industry operators and journalists decide who wins.
The Plateau Awards are funded by the Vlaams Audiovisual Funds, Dutch-language Belgian broadcaster VRT-TV1 (télévision belge néerlandophone), RTBF (French-language Belgian broadcaster) and SABAM.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

The nominations:

Best Belgian Film 2001-2002
The Son [+see also:
film profile
(Luc & Jean-Pierre Dardenne)
Hop (Dominique Standaert)
No Man's Land [+see also:
film profile

Danis Tanovic (No Man's Land)

Best Belgian Director 2001-2002 - SABAM Award
Luc & Jean-Pierre Dardenne (The Son)
Danis Tanovic (No Man's Land)
Frank Van Passel (Villa des Roses)

Best Belgian Actress 2001-2002
Antje De Boeck (Hop)
Els Dottermans (Meisje)

Charlotte Vanden Eynde (Meisje)
Best Belgian Actor 2001-2002
Koen De Bouw (Falling et Science Fiction)

Jan Decleir (Hop et De Verlossing)
Olivier Gourmet (Le Fils and Une Part de Ciel)

Best Belgian Composer 2001-2002
Daan (Meisje)
Vincent D'Hondt (Hop)
Praga Khan (Falling)

Best Belgian Screenwriter 2001-2002
Luc & Jean-Pierre Dardenne (Le Fils)
Dominique Standaert (Hop)
Danis Tanovic (No Man's Land)

Best Belgian Short Film 2001-2002
Mamaman (Iao Lethem)
Muno (Bouli Lanners)
Snapshot (Jakob Verbruggen)

Best Belgian Documentary 2001-2002
Arbres (Sophie Bruneau & Marc-Antoine Roudil)
De l'Autre Côté (Chantal Akerman)
Iran Sous Le Voile Des Apparence (Thierry Michel)

Best Belgian TV Drama 2001-2002
Sedes et Belli
Stille Waters

Best Belgian TV Actor 2001-2002
Nand Buyl (Stille Waters)
Koen De Bouw (Stille Waters)
Jan Decleir (Stille Waters)

Best Belgian TV Actress 2001-2002
Antje De Boeck (Stille Waters)
Veerle Dobbelaere (Recht op Recht)
Chris Thys (Stille Waters)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.