email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Jean Vigo Prize for The Enclosure of Time


- Jean-Charles Fitoussi’s film triumphs and joins the winners’ list of an award celebrating independence of mind and originality of style

Jean Vigo Prize for The Enclosure of Time

Rewarding independence of mind and originality of style, the 62nd Jean Vigo Prize was awarded to The Enclosure of Time by Jean-Charles Fitoussi. Composed of previous winners, critics and operators, the jury this year distinguished a “poetic and luminous film, cinematographic art in all its purity”.

Produced by the director (who also handled the cinematography, sound and editing) for Aura Eté ProductionThe Enclosure of Time’s cast notably features Théophile Gady, Valentine Krasnochock, Bruno Passera and Luis Miguel Cintra. Discovered out of competition at the Locarno Film Festival and screened in Rotterdam in the Spectrum section, the feature film, which is the 8th part of the saga Château de hasard undertaken by the filmmaker, sees Théo visit his grandfather, during the summer, in the Italian region of Marches. But the old man is very sick and Doctor Stein, who already saved him once, sends him a mysterious young nurse who seems to have everything that is needed to cure him.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

It is also worth mentioning that Leos Carax received an Honorary Prize for the entirety of his career and that the 2013 Jean Vigo Short Film Prize went to the Franco-Belgian coproduction Wheels and Reels by Yann Le Quellec. This 37-minute film with Bernard Menez, the singer Christophe and former cycling champion Bernard Hinault, will be screened at the Directors’ Fortnight of the 66th Cannes Film Festival (from May 15th to 26th).

(Translated from French)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.