email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Amos Gitai, Niki Karimi to Chair Edinburgh juries


- Competition juries across categories announced

Amos Gitai, Niki Karimi to Chair Edinburgh juries
Amos Gitai

The Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF, June 18-29) has announced that filmmaker Amos Gitai will Chair the Michael Powell Award jury for Best British Feature Film and that actor Nina Hoss and actor/writer Michael Smiley will serve alongside him. The jury will also select a winner for the Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film.

The International Award that seeks to reward imaginative films from outside the UK with a cash prize of £10,000 will have actor/writer/filmmaker Niki Karimi as Chair, with producer Michael Fitzgerald and journalist Mark Rabinowitz as fellow jurors.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)
series serie

The Documentary Film Competition Award that also carries a cash prize of £10,000 will have filmmaker Cynthia Beatt as Chair, with editor/filmmaker Dominique Auvray and producer/director/writer Sunmin Park as co-jurors. The Short Film Competition will have academic/curator Linda Ruth Williams as Chair and actor Lenora Crichlow and producer Nicole Gerhards alongside. 

The Student Critics Jury are: Alastair Livesley, Hanna Kubicka and Liam Bartie from the University of Glasgow; Helen Aitken and Rebecca Raab from the University of Edinburgh; Harrison Kelly from the University of Dundee and Ross Hamilton from the University of St Andrews. They will work under the guidance of film critics Jonathan Rosenbaum, Dana Linssen, and Derek Malcolm. 

EIFF Artistic Director Chris Fujiwara said, “We’re excited about the quality of the work in all our competitions this year, and we’re honoured to have such distinguished jury members come to Edinburgh to judge this work.”

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy