email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

AWARDS Germany

From Sirk to Kaurismäki


The Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki has won the ‘Douglas Sirk Award’ of the Filmfest Hamburg.
He will receive the award on September 27 at the German premiere of his latest film The Man without a Past. The commercial distribution of this film begins in Germany November 14 with some 50 copies.
This award is named after the director Hans Detlef Sierck. He was born in Hamburg in 1897 and later moved to Hollywood where he achieved worldwide success with his melodramas under the name of Douglas Sirk. Since 1995, Filmfest Hamburg has honoured as Clint Eastwood, Stephen Frears and Jodie Foster.

(The article continues below - Commercial information)

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please subscribe to our newsletter to receive more stories like this directly in your inbox.

Privacy Policy