email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

TURÍN 2018 Industria

El 11° TFL Meeting Event entrega sus premios


- El TorinoFilm Lab entregó 15 premios, valorados en un total de 433.000€, para apoyar el desarrollo, producción y distribución de primeras y segundas películas

El 11° TFL Meeting Event entrega sus premios
Foto de familia del TorinoFilmLab 2018

Este artículo está disponible en inglés.

The 11th TFL Meeting Event production awards (23 and 24 November 2018 during Turin Film Festival) were awarded to a far-reaching countries, from Italy all the way to Japan, stopping off in Finland, France, Lebanon and China along the way. The TFL Production Award (€40,000 each) went to the Italian director Laura Samani for her project Small Body –presented last year as part of the ScriptLab programme (read the news here), a gothic fairy tale set in Marano Lagoon in Friuli, with filming on due to kick off at the end of 2019 (producer: the Italian outfit Nefertiti Film, co-producer: the Slovenian company Vertigo) – and the Finnish Mikko Myllylahti for The Woodcutter Story (Aamu Film Company) – already selected for the Next Step programme at Cannes International Critics' Week in 2018. The Finnish director’s project also scooped up the Amsterdam Post Lab award, which includes €7,500 in post-production services at Filmmore Studios and €7,500 to be used at the Warnier-Posta Sound Studio. 

(El artículo continúa más abajo - Inf. publicitaria)

The 4 TFL Production Awards (€ 50,000 each) were awarded to Costa Brava, Lebanon by Mounia Akl, an ambitious project, inclusive of visual effects, co-produced by Lebanon, France, Sweden and Norway (Abbout Productions, Cinéma Defacto, Silver Films, Barentsfilm), The Settlers by Felipe Gálvez (Chile/Argentina/Denmark) about the brutal genocide of the indigenous Ona in the early nineteenth century in Patagonia (producers: Don Quijote Films, Rei Cine, Snowglobe Film), the Chinese social drama and psychological thriller Blood and Water by Jianjie Lin, in which a family faces the possibility of having a second child and You Are There by Nicole Midori Woodford (Singapore/Japan), starring a young woman who communicates with the afterlife. 

"We were looking for sincerity in projects," revealed the Iranian director Babak Jalali, former TFL alumnus with Land [+lee también:
ficha del filme
and now an international jury member alongside Cameron Bailey, Teresa Cavina, Ankica Jurić Tilić and Paolo Moretti. "We paid particular attention to stories that urgently needed to be told, not necessarily personal stories, but ones that had passion and originality in the way they wanted to be represented." 

Among the other prizes awarded at TFL 2018 were the 3 TFL Audience Design Fund Awards (€40,000 each), awarded to support innovative strategies foraudience engagement during distribution. The winners were A Land Imagined [+lee también:
ficha del filme
by Yeo Siew Hua, Made in Bangladesh [+lee también:
ficha del filme
by Rubaiyat Hossain and The Play by Alejandro Fernández Almendras, while the CNC Award(€8,000), dedicated to the development of a ScriptLab project, went to Alcarràs, the new film by the Catalan director Carla Simón.

To date, TorinoFilmLab boasts a community of 700 film professionals developed internally, more than 40 international partners, 93 films already produced and 20 due to go into production in 2019.

The full list TFL Meeting Event 2018 prize winners: 

2 TFL Production Award
Small Body
- Laura Samani (Italy/Slovenia) (€40,000)
The Woodcutter Story
- Mikko Myllylahti (Finland) (€40,000)

4 TFL Co-Production Award
Costa Brava, Lebanon
- Mounia Akl (Lebanon/France/Sweden/Norway) (€50,000)
The Settlers
- Felipe Gálvez (Chile/Argentina/Denmark) (€50,000)
Blood and Water
- Jianjie Lin (China) (€50,000)
You Are There
- Nicole Midori Woodford (Singapore/Japan) (€50,000)

3 TFL Audience Design Fund Award
A Land Imagined [+lee también:
ficha del filme
- Yeo Siew Hua (Singapore/France/the Netherlands) (€40,000)
Made in Bangladesh [+lee también:
ficha del filme
 - Rubaiyat Hossain (France/Bangladesh/Denmark/Portugal) (€40,000)
The Play - Alejandro Fernández Almendras (Chile/France/Czech Republic/South Korea) (€40,000)

CNC Award (€8,000)
Alcarràs - Carla Simón (Spain)
Special Mention
The Root Crown - Katarzyna Gondek (Poland)

Hamilton Behind The Camera Award – Talent for the Future (€5,000)
Therefore I Am - Wregas Bhanuteja (Indonesia)

Amsterdam Post Lab Award
The Woodcutter Story - Mikko Myllylahti

Digital Production Challenge II Award
Thanatos - E del Mundo (the Philippines/USA)

Sub-ti Award
Titanic Ocean - Konstantina Kotzamani (Greece)

Sub-ti Access Award
Three - Juanjo Giménez (Spain/France)

(El artículo continúa más abajo - Inf. publicitaria)

(Traducción del italiano)

¿Te ha gustado este artículo? Suscríbete a nuestra newsletter y recibe más artículos como este directamente en tu email.