email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Le registe trionfano a Vienna Shorts


- I vincitori della 18ma edizione del festival includono The Natural Death of a Mouse di Katharina Huber, Cause of Death di Joyti Misty, Armadila di Gorana Jovanović e Bella di Thelyia Petraki

Le registe trionfano a Vienna Shorts
Armadila di Gorana Jovanović

Questo articolo è disponibile in inglese.

The 18th edition of Vienna Shorts, Austria's top short film festival and an EFA- and Oscar-qualifying event, closed on 1 June with an awards ceremony held at the Karmelitermarkt open air venue.

Women filmmakers dominated the awards, with German director Katarina Huber's animation The Natural Death of a Mouse winning the €2,000 ASIFA Austria Award, but also earning Huber the €1,000 Elfi Dassanovsky Award for Best Female Director.

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)
series serie

The film now qualifies for the Oscars, alongside Armadila by Serbia's Gorana Jovanović, which bagged the €4,000 Vienna Short Film Award in the Fiction & Documentary competition, and Cause of Death by South African director Joyti Mistry, a co-production with Austria which received the €3,000 Austrian Short Film Award from the Collecting Society of Audiovisual Authors, plus a €2,000 post-production voucher from ViennaFX and Blautöne.

The Jury Prize in the Fiction & Documentary section, which includes an EFA nomination and a €1,050 Artist-in-Residence stipend from Q21 MuseumsQuartier Wien, went to Bella by Greek director Thelyia Petraki, while the Jury Prize in the Animation Avantgarde competition, endowed with another Q21 stipend, was handed to French filmmaker Yann Chapotel for Inside.

As for the ÖW Austrian Competition, Michael Handel picked up the Jury Prize worth €2,000, plus a €1,000 post-production voucher for his short documentary Spring Will Not Be Televised.

The Youth Jury award, consisting of a €1,000 post-production voucher and a €500 voucher for film equipment rental, went to Life on the Horn by Mo Harawe, which screened in the Austrian Short Film Showcase, while the Muvi Austrian Music Award, comprising €500 in cash and a €1,000 voucher from Filmzeug Filmequipmentshop, was handed to Lorenz Uhl for his video for Brumm Brumm by Yukno X Oehl Feat. Autodrom.

Finally, French director Geoffroy de Crécy's animation Empty Places was voted the most popular film of the festival.

The full list of Vienna Shorts awards is as follows:

Fiction & Documentary Competition

Vienna Short Film Award
Armadila - Gorana Jovanović (Serbia)

Jury Prize
Bella - Thelyia Petraki (Greece)

Special Mention
Naya - Der Wald hat tausend Augen - Sebastian Mulder (Netherlands)

Animation Avantgarde Competition

ASIFA Austria Award
The Natural Death of a Mouse - Katharina Huber (Germany)

Jury Prize
Inside - Yann Chapotel (France)

Special Mention
Frozen Jumper - Tina Frank (Austria)

ÖW Austrian Competition

Austrian Short Film Award
Cause of Death - Joyti Misty (Austria/South Africa)

Jury Prize
Spring Will Not Be Televised - Michael Heindl (Austria)

Special Mention
M H Y T N I X - Karin Ferrari (Austria)

Elfi Dassanowsky Award
The Natural Death of a Mouse - Katharina Huber (Germany)

Youth Jury Award
Life on the Horn - Mo Harawe (Austria)

Youth Jury Special Mention
Civilization - Christoph Schwarz (Austria)

Muvi Austrian Music Video Award
Brumm Brumm – Yukno × Oehl Feat. Autodrom - Lorenz Uhl (Austria)

Muvi Austrian Music Video Special Mention
Lost Islands - Tony Renessaince - Lena Kuzmich (Austria)

Audience Awards

Most Popular Film of the Festival
Empty Places - Geoffroy de Crécy (France)

Prix Très Chic
Fruit - Ivan Li (Canada)

ORF.At Audience Award
Letters from a Window - Nigel Gavus, İlkin Beste Çırak (Austria)

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)

(Tradotto dall'inglese)

Ti è piaciuto questo articolo? Iscriviti alla nostra newsletter per ricevere altri articoli direttamente nella tua casella di posta.

Privacy Policy